Skip to content

Uniting Together as a Town to Help Our Own

March 8, 2010

Purchase this Photo Wicked Local photo by David Colantuono

Here is another excellent letter to the editor in The Register by Maureen Tuohy-Bedford. Click on the link below and look for the second story down titled:

SPORTS AND MUSIC PROGRAMS ARE VITAL TO D-Y SCHOOLS

Here’s my favorite quote from the article:

“I am the first to admit that I don’t understand all the intricacies of financial planning for towns or regional school districts, so I need to think simply. In my mind, I compare keeping our schools level-funded to keeping my family level-funded. As far as I can see with my own horribly tight family budget, my costs have not gone down for anything, they’ve gone up.
In my family, we have cut back, we use coupons, we unplug everything that we can when not in use, we hang laundry to dry on a clothesline in the basement instead of using the dryer, we scrimp wherever we can and still my own family budget will require an override. So I don’t imagine that the school budget is much different; the numbers are just much bigger.
So we need help, and our towns help people. Our towns define The New England Way. Our towns always reach out and support a cause, whether it be cancer, homelessness or hunger. Our towns reach out and offer support to any family who has ever needed help. We saw what was accomplished in mere days from the people in Dennis and Yarmouth for the people and children in Haiti. Now our children need help.”

What do you think? Leave a comment below and if you have time, leave one on the The Register’s site too. Leaving a comment is far more powerful than you realize.

If we don’t voice our support then the only thing that people hear are the naysayers, and then people start to believe what they are saying.

So tell us what you think, right now! Thanks!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

